You are here: Home | About | History & Mission

History & Mission

The Foundation will nurture relationships that will create opportunities for stakeholders to make a difference in the lives of Butler students.

Originally established as the Endowment Association in 1967 by far-sighted individuals hoping to generate private support for the college, charter members campaigned for $10,000 in scholarships; they achieved $10,300. Today the endowment of the Butler Foundation has grown to more than $10 million, a tribute to those who wanted to make a difference in the lives of students.

Butler Community College serves nearly 10,000 students annually, with 65 percent of students coming from Sedgwick County. It offers nearly 90 degree programs and 30 professional certification programs. The college’s main campus is in El Dorado, but it has centers in five other communities. For more information about Butler, visit, on Facebook and Twitter (@butlercc).

Butler County Community Junior College Presidents Club Charter Members 1967-1968

Mr. & Mrs. Burl Allison
Mr. & Mrs. David E. Allison
Mrs. Aline Bisagno
Mr. & Mrs. R.D. Bisagno
Mr. & Mrs. Nick Badwey
Mr. & Mrs. George Bacon
Mr. & Mrs. Walter E. Barr
Mr. & Mrs. George A. Blackburn
Boyds Sport Store
Mrs. Ruth E. Bradford
Mr. & Mrs. Joe L. Browne
Carter Insurance Agency
Circle E Ranch
Citizens State Bank
Mr. & Mrs. O.J. Connell, Jr.
Mr. & Mrs. David Clymer
Mr. & Mrs. R.A. Clymer
Mr. Irving W. Cook
Mr. & Mrs. R.D. Criss
Mr. & Mrs. Ramon D. Criss
Dr. & Mrs. R.D. Dellett
Mr. & Mrs. Wilso M. Dickson
Mr. & Mrs. Charles E. Dombaugh
Mr. & Mrs. Charles J. Dugone
Mr. & Mrs. James A. Eaton
El Bowl Inc.
El Dorado National Bank
Elmer Fox & Company
Eureka Federal Savings & Loan Assoc.
Mr. Joe D. Faulconer
Mr. & Mrs. L.B. Fisher
Dr. & Mrs. H.W. Fitzgerald, Jr.
Dr. & Mrs. A.H. Gish
Mr. & Mrs. Ira Graham
Mr. & Mrs. Robert M. Green
Mr. & Mrs. James Greenbank
Mr. & Mrs. Russell Gross
Mr. & Mrs. Virgil R. Godding
Mr. & Mrs. Philip Hamm
Dr. & Mrs. G.H. Hammel
Percy Henman
J.C. Hoyt & Company
Dr. & Mrs. J.H. Johnson
Kansas Emulsions Inc.
Dr. & Mrs. J. Dallas Joyce
KG&E, The Electric Company
Dr. & Mrs. G.E. Kassebaum
Mr. & Mrs. R.M. Kelly
Mr. & Mrs. Paul Kirby
Mr. & Mrs. Robert LaForge
Lasting Interiors
McKay & McKay
Mid-Continent Federal Savings & Loan
Mr. & Mrs. J.E. Morris
Mr. & Mrs. R.G. Morrison
Mr. & Mrs. O.E. Moore
Mrs. Carl Murray
Mr. & Mrs. George Myers
Mr. & Mrs. Frank W. Newacheck
Mrs. A.J. Nigg
Oil-Chemical & Atomic Workers Union
Mrs. Noble Palmer
Mr. & Mrs. William C. Paulson
Mr. & Mrs. Bert Potter
Mr. & Mrs. Harold Richardson
Skelly Oil Company
Mrs. Leah Smith
Mr. & Mrs. F.O. Spencer
Kaneb Pipeline
Dr. & Mrs. A.L. Stoskopf
Mr. & Mrs. Frank Strait
Mr. & Mrs. L.O. Trombla
Walnut Valley State Bank
Mrs. Opal Wentworth
White & Ellis Drilling Co.
K.T. Wiedemann Foundation
Mr. & Mrs. Clarence Wilke
Mr. & Mrs. C.E. Woods
Mr. & Mrs. R.C. Woodward

Mr. & Mrs. Robert Zebold