You are here: Home | Latest News | News & Media | Megan Schuster Awarded $4,800 Winnie Broers Scholarship

Latest News

Megan Schuster Awarded $4,800 Winnie Broers Scholarship

Published: Wednesday, May 27th, 2015

Megan Schuster

Megan Schuster Awarded $4,800 Winnie Broers Scholarship

The Butler Foundation has awarded the Winnie Broers Scholarship to Megan Schuster of Garnett.

Schuster will receive $4,800 in a transfer scholarship to continue her studies in Agribusiness at Kansas State University.

Schuster was actively involved in student life and academic activities at Butler including Phi Beta Lambda, Ag Ambassadors, Grizzly Ambassadors, Phi Theta Kappa, and assisted with intermural sports as a Resident Assistant. She also participated in Grizzly Giveback day, where students and employees perform acts of community service throughout the Butler County area.

“The most influential help I have received while attending Butler is financial support. Academic and Foundation scholarships have opened so many amazing doors for me. Continuing the cycle of giving is important because without that critical financial support, some students would be unable to even attend school,” Schuster said in her application essay.

The Winnie Broers Scholarship was awarded during the 2015 Order of the Purple Honors and Recognition Ceremony on May 15. Students eligible for the Order of the Purple must have completed 30 hours at Butler and hold a 3.75 or higher cumulative grade point average. There were three more honors awarded during the ceremony.

The Humankind Understands Educating Youth (HUEY) Winner was Tarah Pearson of Emporia. This award was created in honor of former Butler student Greg Bales and is given to the Order of the Purple graduate who possesses the same high standards for both academics and extra-curricular activities as Bales.

The Helen Teter Zebold Science Award was given to Kyle Christopher Doeden of Wichita. This honor is awarded to a graduating sophomore majoring in science, math or engineering. The student must be firmly committed to continued study in that major and plan to work toward earning a bachelor’s degree.

The Frank H. Cron History Award was given to James Frederick Barlow IV of Minneapolis. This award is given to a graduating sophomore who has completed the required courses to receive an Associate in Science or Associate in Arts in History and demonstrates high standards of civic pride and American patriotism.